background image
Barber Keeps Rolling with 7th SST Mod Win at WCIS, Other wins to Gordon, McDonald, Majchrzak and Colland

PERRY, NY… Wyoming County International Speedway celebrated their 50th Season of Stock Car Auto Racing on the 1/3rd mile Bullring on Friday night. WCIS celebrated with having the stars from yesterday remembering the past and the current drivers embracing the future of racing in Western New York.

John Barber picked up his seventh win on the season in the 30 Lap feature for the SST Modifieds. Barber started fifth and took control early on, getting up front, and putting this race in cruise control in route to the popular win for the Bliss, NY pilot. Ed Weber and Dan Hoag led the field of open-wheelers to the green flag with Weber getting the early advantage. He would be the leader until a spin by Joe Evans brought out the caution. After the restart, Weber would lead until the 4w machine got loose therefore handing the lead over to Barber. A Mike Bliss spin on lap 17 bunched the field up one final time but Barber was too strong in pulling away from Patrick Emerling and Jon Price in picking up his 7th win on the season. Emerling would come home second followed by Price, Joe Evans and Russ Gian.  

SST Modifieds: JOHN BARBER, Patrick Emerling, Jonathan Price, Joe Evans, Russ Gian, Dick Kluth, Tim Hoegel, Ed Weber, Mike Bliss (DNF), Ed Schueler (DNF), Steve Fuchs, Dan Hoag (DNF) and Greg Utberg (DNF)  Heat Winners: Ed Weber and Patrick Emerling 

Point’s leader Brian Gordon picked up his third win on the season in the 25-lap event for the SST Super Stocks feature event. Brian Gleason and Mike Chenaille led the Supers to green with Gleason getting the lead. The East Concord resident took control of the event and pulled away from the rest of the field. However, the 2008 track champion Brian Gordon had other ideas as he passed Gleason after a mid race caution and led the remaining lap in route to the win. Bobby Lippa Jr came up through the field to come home second followed by Gleason, Chenaille and Jeremy Gray completing the top five. 

SST Super Stocks: BRIAN GORDON, Bobby Lippa Jr, Brian Gleason, Mike Chenaille, Jeremy Gray, Duane Evans, Bill Levee, Brad Collings, Lexi Wilson (DNF), Josh Schosek (DNS)Heat Winners: Brian Gleason and Bobby Lippa Jr  

A late race pass lands Gert McDonald a trip back to victory lane for the second straight week in the 20 lap main event for the 4 Cylinders. Patience was the word of the night for McDonald as patience was the key to her victory. TJ Drennen and Kevin Grom led the field to the green flag with Grom getting to the early advantage. Eventual winner McDonald started fifth and just used patience and key timing to work her way to the front of the field. A mid race caution had the field back together and set up the eventual winning pass from McDonald on Grom on lap 17 and McDonald led the final circuits to pick up her second consecutive victory. Grom would come home second followed by Brian Johnson, Eric Hastreiter and Austyn Fugle rounding out the top five. 

4 Cylinders: GERT MCDONALD, Kevin Grom, Brian Johnson, Eric Hastreiter, Austyn Fugle, TJ Drennen, Cassie Logsdon, Dakota Packman (DNF), Chris Wolcott (DNF)  Heat Winner: Kevin Grom 

Perry’s own Daniel Majchrzak picked up the win in the Mini Cup feature event. Majchrzak led every lap including the lap that means the most in picking up the victory Daniel Majchrzak and Johnny Scutt led the field to green with Majchrzak getting the early advantage. Majchrzak would hold off all challenges including Michelle Becker in the late stages. Becker had a great effort and grabbed the lead for a slight moment but the Majchrzak machine was too tough and regaining the top spot from Becker in turn two and would hang on and picking up the win with Michelle Becker coming home second followed by James Binder, Robbie Becker, Johnny Scutt and Kennedy White rounding out the field.  

Mini Cups: DANIEL MAJCHRZAK, Michelle Becker, James Binder, Robbie Becker, Johnny Scutt and Kennedy White             Heat Winner: Daniel Majchrzak

Jamie Colland picked up the win in the 20-lap feature event for the Casey’s TQ Midget series. The Engelwood Collision team was the team to beat on this night as Bobby Holmes and Vinnie Christiano Jr took turns at the front of the pack with Colland getting the lead in the late stages in claiming the feature win. Chad Haywood and Nelson Rabb led the strong field of Midgets to the green flag with Haywood getting the early lead. Then Bobby Holmes took the advantage and as soon as that happened Haywood got loose coming out of turn two and started to barrel roll on the back straightaway. The driver was okay at the scene but his night was cut short. Bobby Holmes would lead the most laps in the main event but problems sent his machine to the infield for an early race exit handing the lead to the eventual winner Colland. Wayne Turnbull would take home second followed by Rich Watkins, Dave Wollaber and Jonathan Reid. 

TQ Midgets top 5: JAIMIE COLLAND, Wayne Turnbull, Rich Watkins, Dave Wollaber and Jonathan ReidHeat Winners: Vinnie Christiano Jr and Mike Blair 

Next Friday 8/7/2009, The Smash-N-Crash Series continues as Napa Auto Parts presents Junkyard Soccer at the Bullring and Soccer Style Contest Begin early at 6:00 pm (kids), Junkyard Soccer will follow the SST Modified Feature. 

For a full season of Short Track racing Entertainment, Visit the BullRing every Friday Evening Gates open at 5:00 PM with racing to start at 7:30 PM, Logon to  or call WCIS office 585.237.2580, Track 585.237.2510, For Victory Lane photos visit


Last Updated on Tuesday, 04 August 2009 11:04