background image
Emerling Drives to Victory Lane at WCIS

Alhart Jr., Buchanan and Eck Also Take Checkered

By: Steven Petty


 PERRY, NY… A warm early summer evening welcomed drivers and fans alike to the Wyoming County International Speedway for exciting, heart pounding wheel to wheel racing action on the historic 1/3rd mile Bullring. A car cruise was also held on the speedway grounds during intermission.

Boston, NY’s Patrick Emerling made his second trip to victory lane this season after leading all 35 laps in the SST Modified Feature. Jim Ling and Emerling led the field for the start of the Modified feature and it was Emerling in his Emerling Chevrolet 03 machine getting out to the early advantage. An advantage that he wouldn’t give up throughout the duration of the event. There was a “Cinderella story” to this feature event and the “Cinderella story” was Andy Jankowiak. Andy J had problems with his regular Jim and Bob’s Service, Rear End Specialties 57 machine during hot laps and Jankowiak jumped behind the wheel of the Ed Schueler 6 machine that is supporting Breast Cancer Awareness as well as Autism Awareness. After each restart, Andy J would try to real in Patrick Emerling but all chances were shut down by the race leader as Emerling would lead all 35 laps in picking up his second win of 2010 at WCIS. Andy Jankowiak finished up in the runner up spot. Joe Evans crossed the line in third in his TW Signs, Emerling Ford/Mercury machine.

Phil Alhart Jr picked up the victory in the 25 lap affair for the SST Super Stocks. It was Phil’s first career win on the 1/3rd mile Perry, NY speed plant. Phil was getting loose with a few laps to go and he hanged on for the victory. Cassie Logsdon and Alhart Jr. led the field of competitive Super Stocks for the start of the feature event with Alhart getting the advantage. Alhart would lead all 25 laps to grab his first career win on the Bullring. Mike Chenaille got around Logsdon for the second spot and he maintained his runner up spot for the remainder of the race.  Chenaille was followed to the line by Brad Collings, Cassie Logsdon and Jeremy Gray completed the top five with last week’s feature winner Austyn Fugle rounded out the field.

 Bob Bogner and Eric Haistreiter led the field for the start of the 20 lap race with Haistreiter taking the early advantage. Last weeks feature winner Tommy Catalano worked his way up to the front of the field and contact was made and Catalano’s PJ Radiator, Catalano Motorsports, Cam’s NY Pizzeria machine went to the turn two guardrail. Both Haistreiter and Catalano were unable to continue on. The restart saw Charles Buchanan at the point. Buchanan would lead the remaining laps to pick up his second win of the season and also second win in the matter of a week as he also picked up his first career win at Dunn Tire Raceway Park last Saturday. Kevin Grom would hold off Bob Bogner for the runner up position and Bogner was followed to the line by Gary Madore and Doug Packman.

 Jason Eck picked up his second win of the season in the Mini Cups. Robbie Micoli took over the lead just before the halfway mark but Eck regained the lead coming off of turn four for the checkered flag. Micoli would hold off Kennedy White for the runner up spot and Daniel Majchrzak rounded out the field.

Next week at the Bullring is the annual Kids Bike Race and also the Bike Give-a-way. It is also the Spaulding Foundation Benefit night. Gates open at 5:00 pm with racing to get started at 7:30. For more information, you can either log on to or check out the speedway’s Facebook page by searching Wyoming International Speedway. You can also call the speedway office at 585-237-2580 or on race day at 585-237-2510.

Official Results

SST Modifieds: PATRICK EMERLING, Andy Jankowiak, Joe Evans, Jim Ling, Ed Weber, Greg Utberg, Don King, Dick Kluth, John Julicher Jr., Kevin Miller, Tom Weist, Lexi Wilson

SST Super Stocks: PHIL ALHART JR., Mike Chenaille, Brad Collings, Cassie Logsdon, Jeremy Gray, Austyn Fugle

 4 Cylinders: CHARLES BUCHANAN, Kevin Grom, Bob Bogner, Gary Madore, Doug Packman, Daniel Majchrzak (DNF), Tommy Catalano (DNF), Eric Haistreiter (DQ), TJ Drennen (DNF)

Mini Cups: JASON ECK, Robbie Micoli, Kennedy White, Daniel Majchrzak