Wyoming County International Speedway

Search Our Site

Super Short Track Racing

Results 08-03-07


By Dave Buchanan

Conditions were warm but dry on X-Cel Wireless night at Wyoming County International Speedway after rain washed out last week's program. As the month of August begins every point becomes more important as the championship chases tighten up.

In the SST Modifieds Jim Pierce overcame an early race incident to win his fifth race of the season. Pierce was involved in one of two mishaps that took place on just the second lap of the 30-lap feature. The first was just a simple spin by Dick Kluth but the second was a little more serious.

On the restart, Pierce and Jim Love tangled as the field got up to speed in turn two. As those two spun, Bill Mislin and Richard Thomas where left with nowhere to go and they piled into them. Both Mislin and Thomas were knocked out of the race due to the damage suffered in the wreck.

The race finally got under as Kevin Lewis emerged from his fifth starting spot to take the led from Mike Bliss on lap two. Lewis and Bliss dominated the first half of the race as they pulled away from the pack.

Lewis had his hands full as the car developed a terrible push which allowed Bliss to stay on his back bumper.

By the time the yellow flag came out again on lap 16, Jim Pierce had worked his way back to the third spot. It took him five more laps to get by Bliss for second. The yellow flag flew again on lap 24 as Joe Evans spun out, which set up a six lap dash for Lewis and Pierce

Pierce made his move just after the race restarted as he went around the outside of Lewis to take the lead with just five laps to go. Once he got out in front he pulled away for his fifth win of the season.

Lewis held on for second for his fourth runner up finish of the season. Mike Bliss finished third. Jim Love and Jake Sapio rounded out the top five. Sapio's fifth place run is his best ever at WCIS.

Todd Stone dominated the 25-lap Super Stock feature for his second win of the year. Stone ducked under Brian Gleason on lap five to take the lead and went the rest of the way virtually unchallenged. Kyle Sharpe and Kevin Herbert tried to run him down late in the race, but they came up short. Sharpe finished second which his career best at the Perry Bullring. Steve Mcllwaine and Steve Vinyard also posted top five finishes.

In the 4-Cylinder Wasps, Kevin Grom made his first visit to victory lane in almost two months as he won for the third time in 2007. Grom had to chase down Mike Bradshaw who led the first 14 laps from the pole. He finally took the lead with just six laps left.

Grom also gained some ground in the championship chase as points leader Bill Verwys had a substitue driver that crashed out of the race.

Bradshaw finished second just ahead of Robert Dennie. Margaret McDonald and Kevin Miller rounded out the top five.

Kris Hamman won the Pro Mod division feature in the Mini Cups. Michelle Becker won the Jr. Division race.

Be sure to get your "kicks" at WCIS next Friday, August 10, with Junkyard Soccer. The fronstretch will serve as the playing field as teams of three cars each will try and push a giant steel ball through the opposing team's goal. To go along with the soccer theme, kids in soccer uniforms will get in for free. The SST Modifieds, Super Stocks, and 4-cylinders will also be in action that night. Racing starts at 7:30.



Heat Winners - Mike Bliss, Jim Pierce

Feature - JIM PIERCE, Kevin Lewis, Mike Bliss, Jim Love, Jake Sapio, Ed Weber, Joe Evans, Dick Kluth, Bill Mislin, Richard Thomas DQ: Jerry Harding Jr.


Heat Winners - Ken Barber, Kyle Sharpe

Feature - TODD STONE, Kyle Sharpe, Kevin Herbert, Steve Mcllwaine, Steve Vinyard, Brian Gleason, Tony Pangrazio, Dan Scott, Jacob Logsdon, Ken Barber


Heat Winners - Mike Bradshaw, Kevin Grom

Feature - KEVIN GROM, Mike Bradshaw, Robert Dennie, Maragret McDonald, Kevin Miller, Eric Hastrieter, Wayne Semmel, Otis Bradshaw, Dave Bradshaw, Andrew Howe, Chris Jones, Dan Siebert, Cheryl Packman, Fred Schwab


Heat Winner - Kris Hamman

Pro Mod Feature - KRIS HAMMAN, Robbie Micoli, Jim Majchrzak DNS: Roy Becker

Junior Fetaure - MICHELLE BECKER, Robby Becker, Dennis Prouse Yakam, Daniel Majchrzak


Track (585) 237-2510 - Office (585) 237-2580  ©2005 All Rights Reserved