Wyoming County International Speedway

Search Our Site

Super Short Track Racing

Results 07-22-07


By Dave Buchanan

There sometimes in racing when you need to be good, and there are just sometimes when all you need is a little luck or good timing. Bill Mislin needed the latter on Sunday afternoon to win his fourth SST Modified feature of the season at Wyoming County International Speedway.

Mislin was running third behind Jim Pierce and Kirk Rutherford on the final lap when the top two made contact in turn three and spun out. This handed Mislin first place for a final green-white-checkered run to the finish. He was able to hang on despite losing a cylinder earlier in the race to win his third-straight feature at the Perry Bullring.

In victory lane Mislin was surprised as anyone about his good fortune. He even added to his good luck as one of his tires went flat during the post-race celebration.

Dick Kluth was credited with second, which equals his best run of the season. Mike Bliss finished third after starting on the pole. Jim Love finished fourth. Pierce recovered from the last lap spin to finish fifth.

Rutherford finished sixth and was denied his third win of the weekend. He had already won 75-lap SST Modified Series races at Spencer Speedway on Friday night and at Lancaster Raceway Park on Saturday.

Andy Jankowiak captured his second-straight Street Stock feature at WCIS. Jankowiak was once again a dominant force as he led all but one of the 25 laps. John Julicher Jr. finished second in his first ever appearance at the track. His father, John Sr., was a longtime Late Model competitor and has several wins at WCIS. Bobby Hanel, Kevin Mendel, and Matt Jurek completed the top five.

Tim Hoegel of Tonawanda won the 20-lap INEX Legends feature. Hoegel led every lap and was able to hold off a hard-charging Chis Bohlman. Rob Brierton, Cody Gregg, and Jeff Johnson posted top five finishes.

Jim Morgan won the 10-lap New York Modified Midget feature. His 600cc Micro Sprint was traveling around 1/3-mile bullring at about 14.3 seconds a lap.

The Bliss brothers, Mike and Ray Jr., competed in a 10-lap match race. Mike Bliss was driving his SST Modified that he runs weekly at WCIS, while Ray "Zeke the Streak" Bliss ran his 358 DIRT Modified that he campaigns at several dirt tracks in New York. The pavement car of Mike Bliss won the race despite having less horsepower. Ray's dirt car made it exciting though as he used every inch of asphalt he could plus some of the infield grass as well.

The racing continues at WCIS this Friday, July 27 featuring the first ever Pirate Trailer Race. Trailer Race "Captains" will compete against each other as well as the special "bump" car that will be trying to take them out. Fans are encourage to get into the spirit of the evening by dressing in a pirate or nautical theme. The SST Modifieds will be back on Friday joining the Super Stocks and 4-Cylinder Wasps. Racing starts at 7:30 PM. The Lazy Sunday Series continues on Sunday, July 29 with the Street Stocks and the Legends. Racing starts at 2:30 PM for Sunday afternoons.



Heat Winners - Butch Crawford, Jim Pierce

Feature - BILL MISLIN, Dick Kluth, Mike Bliss, Jim Love, Jim Pierce, Kirk Rutherford. Kevin Lewis, Butch Crawford, Jake Sapio, Ed Weber, Jacob Logsdon DNS: Richard Thomas, Mike VerWeire


Heat Winner - Andy Jankowiak

Feature - ANDY JANKOWIAK, John Julicher Jr., Bobby Hanel, Kevin Mendel, Matt Jurek, Kenny Begnouche


Heat Winner - Chris Bohlman

Feature - TIM HOEGEL, Chris Bohlman, Rob Brierton, Cody Gregg, Jeff Johnson, Charlie Neumann


Track (585) 237-2510 - Office (585) 237-2580  ©2005 All Rights Reserved